The Anzaldúa Poetry Prize

Closed until next year. Join our mailing list to keep posted or join us on Twitter and Facebook.
Opens: 15 April 2016
Deadline: 15 August 2016
Guest Judge: TBA
Awards: First place is publication, $500 prize, and 25 contributor copies. Up to five finalists will be announced, and all poems will be considered for publication as a general submission.
Reading Fee: $15
Submit: See you next year!


Gloria AnzalduaOur annual poetry prize proudly honors poet, writer, and cultural theorist, Gloria E. Anzaldúa. Anzaldúa’s work highlights how one’s place in the world is at once geographical, geopolitical, psychological, mythological, spiritual, and linguistic. She is well known for her book of prose and poetry, “Borderlands/La Frontera: The New Mestiza,” which draws on her experience as a Chicana/Tejana/lesbian/feminist activist—a revolutionary and inspirational work that continues to be so.

The Gloria E. Anzaldúa Poetry Prize is awarded annually, in conjunction with the Anzaldúa Literary Trust, to a poet whose work explores how place shapes identity, imagination, and understanding. Special attention is given to poems that exhibit multiple vectors of thinking: artistic, theoretical, and social, which is to say, political.

Why am I compelled to write? Because the writing saves me from this complacency I fear. …Because the world I create in the writing compensates for what the real world does not give me. By writing I put order in the world, give it a handle so I can grasp it. I write because life does not appease my appetites and hunger. I write to record what others erase when I speak, to rewrite the stories others have miswritten about me, about you. To become more intimate with myself and you. …To dispel the myths that I am a mad prophet or a poor suffering soul. To convince myself that I am worthy and that what I have to say is not a pile of shit. …Finally I write because I’m scared of writing, but I’m more scared of not writing.
              –Gloria E. Anzaldúa, “Speaking in Tongues”


  • Submit 15 to 30 pages of poetry. Please include no more than one poem per page.
  • Simultaneous submissions and previously published poems are acceptable.
  • All entries must be submitted online via our submission manager and be contained in a single document.
  • The author’s name should not appear in the document (.doc or .docx).
  • A non-refundable $15 reading fee must accompany your submission.
  • Students (past and present), relatives, and close friends of the judge are ineligible.


See you next year!


The submission deadline is September 15th, 2016, 12 a.m., Central daylight time.


The winner will receive a prize of $500 plus 25 copies of the published manuscript. We will feature the poet on our blog, and the winning book will also be available through our web store.

All finalists will be announced in December on the Newfound blog.

All poems submitted for the award will be considered for publication in Newfound.

Due to the number of submissions, we cannot respond to each writer individually. Each author will receive an acknowledgment of receipt but will need to check the website for notification of the winner.





See you next year!



Our panel of readers will shortlist the finalists:



Winners & Finalists


Judge: Carmen Giménez Smith

MJ_Megan_Gette_poetWinner: M.J. Gette is an MFA candidate in Poetry and Anthropology minor at the University of Minnesota. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Carolina Quarterly, Tupelo Quarterly, Fugue, otoliths, Eratio, and elsewhere. She was awarded a writer’s residency with Arquetopia, Oaxaca, for a project in architecture, culture, and language, as well as the Marcella DeBourg Fellowship, for “giving voice to women’s lives.” She has worked for several NGOs and nonprofits in service to Latino migrants, Guatemalan indigenous peoples and women, and ecological research.

Her winning chapbook, “The Walls They Left Us,” will be published by Newfound in spring of 2016.

Finalists: Dan Donaghy, Amanda Huynh, Anna King Ivey, Davy Knittle, Éireann Lorsung, and Natalie Scenters-Zapico. Poems by our finalists were published in Newfound’s Print no. 2 issue.


Judge: Ada Limón

Rodney_Gomez_poetWinner: Rodney Gomez is the author of “Mouth Filled with Night” (Northwestern 2014), winner of the Drinking Gourd Chapbook Poetry Prize. His poetry has appeared in Denver Quarterly, Barrow Street, Blackbird, Devil’s Lake, Salt Hill, Fourteen Hills, Drunken Boat, Texas Poetry Review, and RHINO, where it won the Editors’ Prize. Born and raised in Brownsville, Texas, he earned a BA from Yale and an MFA from the University of Texas–Pan American. He has been awarded residencies to the Atlantic Center for the Arts and the Santa Fe Art Institute.

He has also served on the board of Migrant Health Promotion, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the health and well-being of migrants, immigrants, and related populations. He edits the accompanying anthology to El Retorno, an annual event honoring Gloria E. Anzaldúa held at the University of Texas-Pan American. He works as an urban planner in Weslaco, Texas.

His winning chapbook, “Spine,” was published by Newfound in spring of 2015. A video interview with the poet was produced and published on our blog and on YouTube.

Finalists: Heather Kirn Lanier and Olivia Cronk. Poems by both finalists were published in Newfound’s Print no. 1 issue.



See you next year!